Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi

Old 14th May 2019, 09:46 AM   #1
Anthony G.

Default oil for keris

Will you use this kind of oil on keris, just asking.
Someone told me not to use this oil as it might 'attack' the warangan and nickel pamor. I assume the person is referring to acidic part but i cannot find any source of info about this oil being acidic. And I am very confuse now.

https://www.amazon.com/KUROBARA-Tsub...gateway&sr=8-4
Anthony G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 09:51 AM   #2
A. G. Maisey

Probably good oil, but I would not use it, simply because I've been using what I currently use for near to 50 years, and I find it perfectly satisfactory.
A. G. Maisey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 09:53 AM   #3
Anthony G.

Quote:
Originally Posted by A. G. Maisey
Probably good oil, but I would not use it, simply because I've been using what I currently use for near to 50 years, and I find it perfectly satisfactory.
Thank you.

Last edited by Anthony G.; 14th May 2019 at 10:14 AM.
Old 15th May 2019, 04:47 PM   #4
mariusgmioc

Would advise against using it, as you don't know it's acidity and stability in time. Kerises are not kitchen knives.

In my oppinion, the best choice of oil for long term conservation of any blades, including kerises is pure mineral oil.

My two cents.
mariusgmioc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 04:51 PM   #5
Anthony G.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariusgmioc
Would advise against using it, as you don't know it's acidity and stability in time. Kerises are not kitchen knives.

In my oppinion, the best choice of oil for long term conservation of any blades, including kerises is pure mineral oil.

My two cents.
Very true, thank you.
Old 15th May 2019, 04:51 PM   #6
mariusgmioc

Quote:
And what do you use?
Old 15th May 2019, 11:46 PM   #7
A. G. Maisey