Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 23rd August 2005, 06:30 PM   #1
micas

Default Sword from Laos

Hey all. Was led to this site during googling of sword topics. Interest spurred by my purchase of a sword in Laos as a memento. I'm by no means an expert. Any comments appreciated.
Attached Images

micas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2005, 06:40 PM   #2
Rick
Vikingsword Staff

Thumbs up This Might Help

Hi Micas and welcome to the forum,

For starters .
http://dharesearch.bowditch.us/

The "Dhafia" here will I'm sure be along shortly to answer any questions you might have .
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2005, 07:57 PM   #3
Ian
Vikingsword Staff

Hi Micas:

I guess I qualify as one of the "dha guys."

Welcome to the forum and you are off to a flying start with a question about dha! What you have is an early 20th C. dha in the Thai style. The slightly flared handle, the blade that increases in width and then tapers to the point. The scabbard, with typical cord suspension system (baldric), is held together by the standard plaited rattan strips. decoration on the blade is similar to recent Thai blade designs.

If you are interested in a discussion of recently made Thai darb, you can find more information here: Contemporary Thai swords

Your sword is older than those recent Thai examples and of better quality. I'm sure your blade would be well tempered and the decorations are typical of pieces from the late 19th/early 20th C. in the NE Burma/N Thai/Laos area (often termed the "hill tribe" region). This style of blade probably traces its historical origins to the Shan people, but subsequently a much wider set of ethnic groups adopted this basic form.