age origin ? Military stirrups ?
Any comment will be welcome

Cerjak
Attached Images

Cerjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2013, 12:48 PM   #2
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Nice things; looking somehow like the bar guard of certain swords .
XIX century ?
Do we have members familiar with the stirrup area ?
fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2013, 08:12 PM   #3
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

I have no particular knowledge on stirrups, but think Fernando's assessment of 19th century most likely, and these are not military. If noticed between the two, the shape of the fixture to affix the strap is different, and most importantly the design within the footplate is quite different. It almost would suggest the nature of cattle brands or ranch insignia, and the developed basket guard may suggest Spanish influence, as these kinds of guards were popular in New Spain in the early 19th century on what became known as 'round tang' espada anchas.
The use of brands were common in Spanish estancias in the Southwest in these times, and perhaps these designs could be associated? The only reference I have to listings of these is unfortunately not at hand, but as always we hope some of the countless readers out there who do have such knowledge might be compelled to share this information.
Jim McDougall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 02:14 AM   #4
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

According to Stone's pages of examples (p.585, #10) a similar form with the basket/cage type toe protection is identified as German, 17th c. (with question mark suggesting the date uncertain). As far as I can see with all the stirrup forms I have found, the 'German' attributed ones are the only ones with this 'caged' feature.

While obviously the provenance of these, which we of course do not know, would certainly lend to better classification, if they are from Europe then we might presume the German origin.