Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 26th July 2011, 08:18 AM   #1
Coomagirl

Question Sword with Eagle head and Ivory handle

I'm new to this, I need some help finding the origin of the sword I have bought on e-bay. There was a thread I followed back in 2009 about a similar find. Mine has an Eagle head and the handle seems to be Bone or Ivory with wire wrapped around it. The blade itself has VOC stamped on it as well as a sailing ship and the word Batavia inscribed.
Coomagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 10:16 AM   #2
Atlantia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coomagirl
I'm new to this, I need some help finding the origin of the sword I have bought on e-bay. There was a thread I followed back in 2009 about a similar find. Mine has an Eagle head and the handle seems to be Bone or Ivory with wire wrapped around it. The blade itself has VOC stamped on it as well as a sailing ship and the word Batavia inscribed.
HI,
Can you upload pictures?
If not, then when did you buy it, are the pictures still on eBAy to look at?
Gene
Atlantia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 05:34 AM   #3
Jeff D

Is it similar to this one? The most notorious sword ever discussed on this board.

http://www.vikingsword.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000140.html

All the Best

P.S. For you Jim
Jeff D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 07:56 AM   #4
M ELEY

Run away! Run away! (Monty Python had it right!)
M ELEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 07:59 AM   #5
Atlantia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff D
Is it similar to this one? The most notorious sword ever discussed on this board.

http://www.vikingsword.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000140.html

All the Best

P.S. For you Jim
Hey Jeff,
Must admit that was my though too.
Atlantia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2011, 04:52 PM   #6
Rick
Vikingsword Staff

Wink

Is the blade marked, dare I say it, Shaver Cool ?