Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 15th April 2011, 06:47 PM   #1
Ferguson

Default Sword in Museum Identification

Hello all,
I was in Wilmington, NC, USA a couple weeks ago and went to the Cape Fear Museum. There was a sword listed as "Scottish Double Edged Short Sword" said to have been used by a Confederate soldier. I've attached 2 poor cell phone pictures. Isn't this a Chinese sword? I wanted to run it past you guys before I send a note to the curator, as I'm not a Chinese expert.
Thanks!
Steve
Attached Images

Ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 06:56 PM   #2
Robert
EAAF Staff

Looks Chinese to me but I am by NO means an expert on these (or anything else for that matter).

Robert
Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 06:58 PM   #3
Rick
Vikingsword Staff

Thumbs up

If it quacks like a Duck ....
Chinese .
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 06:59 PM   #4
Henk

I don't think you have to be an expert to see that this sword is Chinese and certainly NOT Scottish.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 07:26 PM   #5
Gavin Nugent

Now the Scots were well known inventors, copper wire for example was a Scotish invention, discovered after a Scotsman and a Dutchman were one day fighting over a penny but to have invented the Jian...that would be a long shot.

Gav, the son of a Scot
Gavin Nugent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 07:41 PM   #6
Atlantia

Quote:
Originally Posted by freebooter
Now the Scots were well known inventors, copper wire for example was a Scotish invention, discovered after a Scotsman and a Dutchman were one day fighting over a penny but to have invented the Jian...that would be a long shot.

Gav, the son of a Scot

LOL!!!
Atlantia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 07:43 PM   #7
David
Keris forum moderator