Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 23rd June 2022, 12:37 AM   #1
JoeCanada42

Default Eunjangdo

Recently acquired this locally at a garage sale. some of the contents of the sale were from a person from Japan who has passed, I also got a carved document seal, which could be of interest., The box it came with has no info. it looked like a trinket from a tourist shop at first, I had a suspicion of silver, and when I saw the blade I knew it was something of quality, . I work as a silversmith making jewelry in 925.. I took it upon myself to clean it carefully with a good silver dip, I know I really probably shouldn't have, i didn't research it yet and didn't have much concern into it. it does shine nicer in the moonlight now,. I did take pictures before cleaning, and fixed up an old camera for some better photos afterwards.

anybody know a little more about these? I'm curious about the dohong? or niello? anybody able to translate? that would be realy cool also. thanks for looking.

here is the previous info i found. and there is a few videos on youtube concerning eunjangdo, korean silver knives etc..

http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=21795

http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=15166
Attached Images

JoeCanada42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2022, 12:39 AM   #2
JoeCanada42

more photos
Attached Images

Old 23rd June 2022, 12:41 AM   #3
JoeCanada42

additional photos again
Attached Images

Old 24th June 2022, 12:06 AM   #4
JoeCanada42

total length in scabbard is almost 6 1/2 inches
blade and handle is 5 1/2 inches
blade only is just over 3 inches
blade is 1/2 inch wide
Old 24th June 2022, 07:16 PM   #5
ariel

I think this is a quite modern souvenir.
Not even considering its very modern mechanical decorations, the gift box with even a special knife holder is a dead giveaway.
ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2022, 03:01 AM   #6
JoeCanada42