Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24th September 2006, 10:00 PM   #1
BSMStar

Default Old Helm mystery...

Can anyone shed any light on this old helmet?

It is hallmarked.
Attached Images

BSMStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2006, 06:29 AM   #2
ariel

I am not sure it is genuine. Not because I am an expert on helmets, but simply because of purely technical issues.
First, the cross (supposedly designed to protect the face) appears to be fixed. Noseguards were supposed to be moveable to facilitate putting the helmet on and taking it off.
Second, the neck guard is vertical: exceedingly uncomfortable with prolonged wear and, especially, during the battle (try to keep you neck stiff for a long time!)
These two features would not be a major problem for re-enacting (town parade etc), but would make life hell in real battle ( well, war is hell, anyway...).
ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2006, 01:05 PM   #3
BSMStar

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariel
I am not sure it is genuine. Not because I am an expert on helmets, but simply because of purely technical issues.
First, the cross (supposedly designed to protect the face) appears to be fixed. Noseguards were supposed to be moveable to facilitate putting the helmet on and taking it off.
Second, the neck guard is vertical: exceedingly uncomfortable with prolonged wear and, especially, during the battle (try to keep you neck stiff for a long time!)
These two features would not be a major problem for re-enacting (town parade etc), but would make life hell in real battle ( well, war is hell, anyway...).
Hi Ariel,