Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11th July 2012, 03:54 AM   #1
apolaki

Default Is this an authentic Formosan Paiwan sword?

I got this while on my trip in Taiwan. Do you think its authentic or a tourist piece? Does anyone know if it is legal to ship swords from Taiwan to US or take on a plane in checked-in luggage? =) Thanks!!
Attached Images

apolaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 06:13 PM   #2
VANDOO
(deceased)

Thumbs up

I AM NO EXPERT ON THESE BUT BASED ON WHAT I HAVE SEEN OVER THE YEARS AND ON THIS FORUM. IT IS NOT TYPICAL OF THE TOURIST ITEMS AND CLOSER TO THOSE ACTUALLY USED BY THE NATIVE PEOPLE. DO A FORUM SEARCH FOR THESE AND SEND A MESSAGE TO ONE OF THE EXPERTS AND THEY WILL BE ABLE TO TELL YOU MUCH MORE.
VANDOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 09:14 PM   #3
KuKulzA28

Quote:
Originally Posted by apolaki
I got this while on my trip in Taiwan. Do you think its authentic or a tourist piece? Does anyone know if it is legal to ship swords from Taiwan to US or take on a plane in checked-in luggage? =) Thanks!!
Hi, seems like you made it to Taiwan safe and sound.

It looks like it definitely could be Paiwan. If it is Paiwanese, their blades are called "takit"... pronounced like "tjakit"... the tj sound I think is like the tj in Atjeh, otherwise spelled Aceh.

As for whether it's tourist or not, hard to say. It doesn't look quite like the tourist examples I've seen / owned, if that helps you at all.

You can have it in luggage but not your carry-ons.

Shipping is possible, but be careful and willing to risk loss... while Taiwanese postal service is usually very efficient - they are paranoid of sending blades in the mail. You are technically not allowed to. Easiest way it to put it in your luggage, check it in, and then pick up your luggage (and the blade) where-ever your final destination (home) is.