Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 31st December 2004, 05:49 AM   #1
eli

Default Tombak for comment

Hi my name is Eli and I have just started collecting Indonesian weapons. Yesterday, I got a Tombak. It is great except that when I bought it there was no hilt. Does anyone know where I can get an antique hilt or a new hilt?

Also, I was wondering about some basic care that for a tombak. Attached are some photos of the Tombak.
Attached Images

eli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 05:51 AM   #2
eli

sorry about thie size I didn't understand how big they would be.
Old 31st December 2004, 08:27 AM   #3
Henk

Welcome Eli to this forum.

Very nice tombak. Mostly you get them without the hilt.

The best thing to do for taking care of this one is oiling. The best oil you can use is keris oil. That gives a good smell too. Keris oil is expensive so you can use also other kinds of oil to prevent rusting.

I think it is not very difficult to get a hilt for it. Certainly not a new one.
You should ask Adni from the Malay Art Gallery also a member of this forum. I'm sure he can help you out.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 09:46 PM   #4
eli

henk,how many times should oil it? once a week,once a month,once a year year?
Old 1st January 2005, 12:39 PM   #5
Henk

Eli,

I oil my kerisses and tombaks once a year. Using a good oil that should be enough. But depending to the climate in your country it is possible it has to be done more often. But I check them regularly and sometimes I have to oil a blade two or three times a year.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2005, 08:44 PM   #6
eli

here are some better pics
Attached Images

Old 2nd January 2005, 02:38 AM   #7
tom hyle