Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 28th July 2022, 05:13 PM   #1
Lead Snowstorm

Default Wheellock pistol for comments

Greetings all,

I recently acquired a wheellock pistol, stated to date from the first quarter of the 17th century. I’m still fairly new to these weapons, so let me know if there is more information than I’ve given that would be useful.

The full-octagonal barrel is just shy of 16 inches and is of approximately .60 caliber (15.2mm). The stock has some sort of old adhesive on the right side behind the lock, and a faint hairline crack along the spine of the grip behind the tang. The metal is freckled, but fortunately free of major pitting. The lock has beveled edges, and appears to be in functioning order with a spanner.

The auction house mentioned two markings on the barrel, one of which looked like “NS” and the other possibly an animal head - I think instead they are the Suhl hen and “SVL.”

As I say, all comments are most welcome and let me know if there is something more I can show or describe. Thanks!
Attached Images

Lead Snowstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2022, 11:22 AM   #2
corrado26

This is the typical Suhl wheellock pistol made in the years 1620/30 for Saxony or Poland.
corrado26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2022, 11:36 AM   #3
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Great, Udo .
fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2022, 02:03 PM   #4
Lead Snowstorm

Quote:
Originally Posted by corrado26 View Post
This is the typical Suhl wheellock pistol made in the years 1620/30 for Saxony or Poland.
Awesome, thanks!