Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 16th August 2011, 02:45 AM   #1
Nagawarrior

Default Militaria "Sweet Heart" piece.

Not exactly an edged weapon but related.
Just found.
I believe its a "Sweet Heart" pillow of some sort. Pure guess. Probably British from 1890 (on pillow). Says "TRIA JUNCTA IN UNO", around the crown and "Forget Me Not". Crossed sword and rifles. Flaming bomb. Other motifs?? Two little coins? With Arabic writing? Maybe Afgan war. Heavy as a brick. Something in there? I have no experience with these. Is this given to the soldier by his sweetheart or the other way around? Hoping folks on here can help out. I think its pretty cool and would look good in a sword display. Any ideas.
Attached Images

Nagawarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2011, 10:05 AM   #2
mrwizard

I think the symbolism on this thing is somehow connected to the Order of the Bath. Tria juncta in uno (three connected in one) was/is their motto.
If the badge in the upper left has a rose in it, it could stand for England.
The lower symbol could represent a thistle -> Scotland.
The celtic-cross in the upper right could stand for ireland.
Maybe someone with knowledge in british heraldy can tell you more.

Best Regards,
Thilo
mrwizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2011, 01:01 PM   #3
Nagawarrior

Thank you Thilo.