Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 20th June 2007, 12:15 PM   #1
Thomas W

Default Help with identifying this blade.

Hi all

This is my first post here, I posted this question on swordforum and Jason Anstey referred me here.

And here is my question.

This is my first post here and would like some help to identify a sword, I am a total novice in this field.
I recently inherited a sword from my father, my guess is that the sword is bought around 1970 or earlier.

Just interested in it's history and who made it, so any help would be appreciated.

/Thomas
Thomas W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 06:04 PM   #2
Mark

Thomas,

This is a daab from Thailand, made in Aranyik (spelled Arunyig on the blade). I have never seen the maker's mark, but it probably identifies one of the several shops there.

Dates are hard to judge from photographs, but I would not place it older than your estimate. These were often brought home as souvenirs by GIs who went on leave in Thailand, or other travellors passing through. Serge (cozun) can probably give better specifics, as he has close contacts with the smiths at Aranyik.
Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2007, 03:31 AM   #3
Jason Anstey

Hi Thomas,

Nice to see you here.

Interestingly the wood appears to be Thailand Rosewood - Payung Deeng. Which is quite a bit more expensive than teak. If Serge pops his head in I am sure he will have more info.

Cheers

Jason
Jason Anstey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2007, 07:06 PM   #4
DhaDha