Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 26th June 2011, 12:01 PM   #1
RDGAC

Default Oh yes!

My latest acquisition! Bought from a dealer Daan Saaf again, though not without a struggle getting her back to York.

43.25in, watered, silver-inlaid barrel of approx. .60 bore. EIC lock, converted locally for percussion ignition. Stock seems to be in good fettle, no major cracks or failures; the area around the nipple and barrel tang's a bit worn, as you'd expect (huzzah for corrosive primers), the ramrod's not original (or if it is, it's been cut down or broken at some point), and the tang screw seems to have stripped its threads. Nonetheless, for her age (at least 100) she's doing well, I think.
Attached Images

RDGAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2011, 06:55 PM   #2
Rust Collector

The pattern welding of the barrel is exquisite. I'm no expert but I would hang that on my wall anyday.
Rust Collector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2011, 09:02 AM   #3
RDGAC

Thanks! I actually didn't know the barrel was watered when I got hold of the gun; it was only on closer examination that I spotted the patterning, which of course made me very happy indeed.
Old 27th June 2011, 05:35 PM   #4
rickystl

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDGAC
Thanks! I actually didn't know the barrel was watered when I got hold of the gun; it was only on closer examination that I spotted the patterning, which of course made me very happy indeed.
Hello. Nice piece for your collection. Yes, very nice barrel. Looks almost Indian (?). Nice piece. Rick.
rickystl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2011, 06:09 PM   #5
Atlantia

NICE!

The damascus barrel is superb. My first thought was Turkish.

Best
Gene
Atlantia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2011, 06:56 PM   #6
RDGAC