Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi

Old 15th December 2015, 01:50 AM   #1
Rafngard

Smile A Bali (or Lombok) Keris for comment

Hello all,

I recently acquired this keris from epray for a reasonable price, and wanted to see what the experts here thought. Attached photos are from the seller, as I've been waiting for a good day to take photos, but December in Minnesota has not been cooperating.

I *think* the parmor is uler lulut, the Ukiran is in the Loncengan style, and is paired with a Kajongan wrongko. The gandik is rather long to my eye.

The seller said it was 19th century, but I trust the epray sellers about as far as I can throw them (less far actually, as I practice silat ), so I was hoping the experts here might offer an opinion. It looks like it might have some age to my eye, but I'm a rank amateur on the subject. The seller also thought the gems in the uwer might be rubies; my earlier comments on trust and throwing are relevant here as well.

As I said above, the pics are from the seller, and some rust is visible in these pics. It has been taken care of, I also cleaned up the uwer a bit. I think the Keris is a lot happier now.

As I said, I'm a rank amateur, so forgive me if I misapply any of the terminology above. All comments are welcome, and I'm eager to learn.

Thanks,
Leif
Attached Images

Rafngard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2015, 02:15 AM   #2
A. G. Maisey

Yes, an old blade and the dress also has some age.

The stones in the wewer are probably glass, but they might be resin, definitely not natural stones. This should not be taken as a defect, with Balinese keris its all about appearance, if it looks OK, it is OK.
A. G. Maisey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2015, 02:26 AM   #3
David
Keris forum moderator