Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 25th January 2011, 06:01 PM   #1
danhiman

Default Help Identifing this piece

I have owned this piece for 5 years now. It smells strong of copper. Its a little top heavy, but seems to aid in its swing. It looks as if it was used.
Attached Images

danhiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 06:38 PM   #2
Atlantia

Hi Danhiman
Welcome to the forums.
Looks like you have a copper copy of a bronze age sword that has been cast with the hilt parts combined.
I'm not an expert, but to be it looks like a slight mix of 'Witham' (antenna style) and classic leaf shaped sytles.
Atlantia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 01:39 AM   #3
Matchlock
(deceased)

Location: Bavaria, Germany - the center of 15th and 16th century gunmaking

Hi Danhiman,

And welcome to our forums.

This item doubtlessly shows the type of a Bronze Age sword , ca. 2200 to 1200 BC, with an unusually high content of copper in the brass alloy forming the bronze. Whether it's a copy of an original item or not I am not able to tell from the images.

The double scroll pommel is, as Gene has pointed out, of a rare form diverging from the antenna type.

Best,
Michael
Matchlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 03:12 AM   #4
danhiman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matchlock
Hi Danhiman,

And welcome to our forums.

This item doubtlessly shows the type of a Bronze Age sword , ca. 2200 to 1200 BC, with an unusually high content of copper in the brass alloy forming the bronze. Whether it's a copy of an original item or not I am not able to tell from the images.

The double scroll pommel is, as Gene has pointed out, of a rare form diverging from the antenna type.

Best,
Michael
What other pictures would help determine authenticity? Maybe different lighting?

Thanks for the help gentlemen.
Old 28th January 2011, 06:50 PM   #5
Atlantia

Quote: