Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 21st March 2022, 05:29 PM   #1
DavidFriedman

Default Vietnamese, Burmese, Thai?

Hi friends,
I’m still learning about the South East Asian twists on weaponry. Was just wondering if anyone could identify these large two handed sabers, as Vietnamese, Thai, Burmese, Cambodian?

28 inch blades, 40 inch total lengths.

Because of the design on the blade, I was leaning towards Vietnamese. But since there’s two of them, it reminds me of the Thai or Cambodian double sabers. (Krabi Krabong etc?)

Many thanks in advance.
Attached Images

DavidFriedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2022, 07:51 PM   #2
BBJW

Looks like a Thai Dha to me.- bbjw
BBJW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2022, 08:26 PM   #3
Ren Ren

My guess is that these items come from Northwest Vietnam.
Ren Ren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2022, 09:11 PM   #4
DavidFriedman

These are 40 inches. Do you think that they would be used in a pair, as are Thai Dha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ren Ren View Post
My guess is that these items come from Northwest Vietnam.
Old 21st March 2022, 09:15 PM   #5
DavidFriedman

Thanks

QUOTE=BBJW;270669]Looks like a Thai Dha to me.- bbjw[/QUOTE]
Old 21st March 2022, 10:15 PM   #6
Ren Ren

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidFriedman View Post
These are 40 inches. Do you think that they would be used in a pair, as are Thai Dha?
I like your question, but I don't have an answer yet. In the North of Vietnam, along the border with China, paired objects are widespread. But I am not sure that the same customs exist in the Northwest of Vietnam, on the border with Laos. This needs to be checked.