Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 6th January 2014, 12:19 PM   #1
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Default Cavalry sabre with a parabolic blade

I have been chasing one of these for a couple years. Finaly i managed to convince this guy to trade the best (or less bad) of two examples he had.
Having (poorly ?) restored its grip with a new leather cover and wiring, he settled for a swap plus a few Euros.
Its blade curvature may not be the greatest out there, but is already within the not practical but exhibionist range. I wouldn't be surprised if the owner had this one for showing off in the streets and palace corridors and used a more 'reasonable' example for going into battle.
Judging by the stirrup hilt and all, this could be Portuguese, dated beg. XIX century, like from the Peninsular War period, i would risk; not an early example i know, but i had to have one of these bizarre blades in my in significant collection.
Any comments will be more than welcome.

Attached Images

fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2014, 03:07 PM   #2
sirupate

It looks like a flankers sword to me, but not being an expert I await for the experienced guys to give their views.
sirupate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2014, 06:37 PM   #3
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

Hi Nando,
I think Sirupate is spot on, as it seems flank company officers did seem to favor in many cases these deeply parabolic blades, though it seems that may have been incidental. I have seen the familiar M1803 lionhead brass hilt forms (for infantry officers but also flank company officers)with the slotted guard with these kinds of blades on occasion . I have stirrup hilt sabre with deeply parabolic blade and unusually canted hlt which has been regarded as a variant M1796 ( I will see if I can find photos).