Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 15th March 2023, 01:40 AM   #1
SwordLover79

Default Johannes Hoppe

Hello: I read with interest the discussion about German swordsmiths working at Hounslow in the years before and after the English Civil War. I have a 48.5 inch rapier (and matching dagger), with the blade of the rapier marked "JOHANNES HOPPE" in the fullers on both sides. Photos attached. Is this rapier more likely to be from Germany or England? Photos attached. blade length 43 inches. I included photos of the armorer's marks on either side of the blade. Thanks!
Attached Images

SwordLover79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2023, 11:50 AM   #2
urbanspaceman

Default Johannes Hoppe the Elder

Please be aware that I am no expert outside of my primary research which is Shotley Bridge; although inevitably, this extends in either direction to Hounslow and early Birmingham, but only slightly.
I also have few resources of reference beyond the basics… so:
I looked in Bezdek and this seems to be Johannes Hoppe the Elder.
His symbol was The Wildman (see att).
His dates are 1580 - 1645; although they might also be 1570 - 1640.
He does not appear to have ever left Solingen.
I also looked in Norman, and because of that distinctive branching guard and the pommel shape, while neither example was exact - but perhaps near enough, the date, considering Hoppe's life dates, would be ca. 1630 - 35.
Just out of interest, Johannes Hoppe the Younger had a similar symbol (see att) but it is not yours; he was over in England most of his adult life.
Mine is an amateur job and it really needs the attention of an expert; perhaps Jim might take a look.
Attached Images

urbanspaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2023, 11:55 AM   #3
urbanspaceman

Default ps

Did you find that sword near you in San Diego?
Do you have any provenance?