Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 18th May 2006, 10:13 AM   #1
Alam Shah

Default eBay keris... are these Kraton pieces?

1) Antique Yogya Palace Guard Keris?

Labelled: Antique Yogya Palace Guard Keris w/ Silver Sheath kris
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=7413217886&id=

Excerpt: "Handle might be more recently added."

A yogya palace guard, sporting a Solonese hilt....hmmm?
Possibly a recently replaced hilt?

2) 19th Century Yogjakarta Keraton Keris?

Labelled: 19th C Yogya Keraton Keris kris dagger Java short swor
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=7413217864&id=

Excerpt: "It has a brass cover with the Yogjakarta Keraton (palace) logo."

Keraton logo on the pendok doesn't mean a keraton piece, right? I was told that pendok with keraton logo are readily available, for purchase.

As I'm new to keris, kindly guide me along. Are these keraton (palace) pieces?
Old 18th May 2006, 10:26 AM   #2
VVV

Maybe it's "Keraton-style"?
At hotels you can also purchase a night in the President's Suite without being a President...

Michael
Old 18th May 2006, 08:06 PM   #3
nechesh

hhhmmmm......
Old 19th May 2006, 01:42 AM   #4
doecon

Thanks Alam for sharing

Since I’m the seller of these keris I try to give you some insight of what I know about the items.

a. The description of the Keris is accurate when it comes to age, material etc. So the first one mentioned is indeed with silver cover and both are indeed of the age mentioned (at least). I don’t see the point in deliberately misleading people, as you might see in other auctions. You can clearly see from the pictures that these pendok are old, and they are indeed.