Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 19th June 2011, 03:07 AM   #1
archer

Default Tlingit Double Dagger

This came in the mail today. It appears to be the real deal. It was spendy as someone else wanted almost as bad. The mystery for the moment is it is fluted on both sides one other I have photos of is fluted opposite side concave. Does anyone know of examples that I could access online? Thank you, Steve
Attached Images

archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 08:46 AM   #2
tom hyle

beautiful!
tom hyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 09:28 AM   #3
colin henshaw

Looks good to me, but I am not an expert. Have you tried the American Museum of Natural History website ?
colin henshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 09:21 PM   #4
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

Looking at this beautiful dagger I was compelled to search for more information. One of the greatest things to me about these weapons is learning from them, and it is exciting when information accompanies them, so heres what I found.

It seemed unusual from the examples I found, that this one had such perfectly symmetrical flutes rather than the usual midrib in the blade.
While some Tlingit daggers are dual blades like this (somewhat reminiscent of the Indian, Syrian, Sudanese haladie) others are with single blade and with two somewhat voluted arms extended up and outward from the opposite end of the grip.

The leather straps wrapped on the grip are part of a lanyard or tether which is usually wrapped about the body and wrist, these daggers are sheathed and worn at the chest.