Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 1st May 2007, 04:00 PM   #1
Antonio Cejunior

Default Contemporary Dha

Hi everyone,

Jesus Hernandez just concluded this W2 steel contemporary dha version for me. In the link there is the initial concept which is followed by the making of the dha.

As I receive it, I will take some studio pictures for better documentation.

I'm quite aware that most of you folks are into antique dhas or kris, but I felt the need to design my own swords.
Apart from being a Museum guy, I've been doing design for the last 30 years and there is more coming soon that I am sure you will enjoy.

Would be interested to discuss traditional and contemporary approaches coming from out of the ethnical environment.
Antonio Cejunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2007, 04:23 PM   #2
Lew
(deceased)

Antonio

It's a nice sword and I love the temper line but it strikes me more as a Japanese short sword rather than a dha.

Lew
Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2007, 04:31 PM   #3
Antonio Cejunior

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOUIEBLADES
Antonio

It's a nice sword and I love the temper line but it strikes me more as a Japanese short sword rather than a dha.

Lew
Hi Louie,

In fact you are right. Actually even in my specifications I used Japanese terms for convenience. If you check most of what is being done by non-native smiths, it is done with a hybridation of techniques as well as ways of holding the blade to the scabbard.
I think there is a lot of hybridation, from heat treatment. Bowies have temperlines nowadays, and they are native to colonial times.
I think this is how the world is heading. No excuses just an explanation
Old 1st May 2007, 07:35 PM   #4
Tim Simmons

Antonio,