Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 18th November 2008, 07:09 PM   #1
Freddy

Question Orientation of the grip of this keris

I recently bought what I think is a Bugis keris. Unfortunately without sheath, but it's still a nice piece.

The position of the handle looked a bit 'akward' to me. I had quite some trouble getting it off the blade. The peksi was bent.

I was able to straighten it without causing damage, but now I'm wondering what would be the best position of the handle for this type of keris.

I'm sure some of our keris-loving forum members could 'enlighten' me.

Here are some pics : first the piece as I got it, secondly a pic of the 'bent' peksi.

Freddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 08:15 PM   #2
kulbuntet

Hi Fredy,

I do also think it's a bugis from sulawesi, but im no expert. But stil i can see the garuda on the sorsoran(V shape). I have one like it, but without luk.

Her a pic, how it's mounted.

You have to twist the hilt till it is in comfort in your hand. I hope it is clear for you, iff not tel us and one of us wil try to help. One knows a bit..all know a lot.

Regards and congrats...nice blade and willah. Maybe someone can help you with a sheath(sarong)...try out and you wil know.
kulbuntet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 09:57 PM   #3
David
Keris forum moderator

That's a nice looking Bugis keris. Kulbuntet's photo should set you straight, but he is also right that the exact postion will depend on what is most comfortable in your hand. It should be based on that grip in the photo though.
On of our Peninsula area friends might be able to put you on to a new sheath, but i suspect that it will cost you quite a bit more than the price you paid for the keris.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2008, 11:46 PM   #4
A. G. Maisey