Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 29th July 2019, 10:34 AM   #1
Hombre

Default Need help with this one....

Hi... This is my first post in this Keris forum.... I have no experience at all when it comes to Keris.... I got this one today and I really need your help.... Any opinions at all are very much appreciated....
Sorry for bad pictures....

Best,
Stefan
Sweden
Attached Images

Hombre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2019, 10:35 AM   #2
Hombre

Last edited by Ian; 31st July 2019 at 04:35 AM.
Old 29th July 2019, 09:57 PM   #3
kronckew

Interesting Moro Kris/Kalis, the gangya* looks like it may not be a separate piece as is more normal in pre-ww2 (1930's and earlier) items. I can see what may be just a well fitted gap line tho.

Dimensions, blade length, length overall would help too. (I can't quite read the tape measure)

* - see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalis#...menclature.jpg

and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kalis
kronckew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2019, 10:28 PM   #4
David
Keris forum moderator

Interesting kris. I'd say that the gangya is indeed separate (though i can't be sure). The blade could be a bit older than the dress. The style of hilt does look more post WWII, but it is nicely done. Are the metal bits actually silver? Some look like they could be. Also looks like there is a coin placed between the hilt and blade. Can you see what that coin is and if there is a date (though that doesn't necessarily date the blade). Over all it seems a nice example of this type.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2019, 12:31 AM   #5
Battara
EAAF Staff

Welcome to our little forum!