Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 15th April 2017, 01:58 AM   #1
Marbel

Default Bagobo, Blaan ? Your expertise please

Hello,

Seeking your expertise please on this old blade.

The scabbard is wood, two parts, held together with original rattan and later-added string. The raised "block" holding the waist cord is not added on, it's one with the wood of the scabbard. Nice color, well worn.

The blade is heavy and sharp. Slightly loose from the hilt. The brass is very heavy with a smooth, worn feel. The last photo shows holes where chains (with bells) would have been attached to the end long ago.

So the question is - whose blade was this? The patterns on the hilt say Bagobo, the flared edge (without pattern) and the decorative holes might add Blaan into the mix and possibly (but not likely) Tboli.

Any thoughts and input would be very welcome. I'm far from an expert in this arena and seek your knowledge. Thank you very much.
Attached Images

Marbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2017, 08:46 PM   #2
Sajen

Hello Marbel,

I would guess that it is a Bagobo sword, see for example this old thread: http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showth...ighlight=tboli

Regards,
Detlef
Sajen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2017, 12:10 AM   #3
Ian
Vikingsword Staff

Hi marbel:

You pose an interesting question with this one. All metal hilts are fairly common among the Lumad tribes of eastern and south-eastern Mindanao. The T'boli use all metal hilts on their kamfilan, and other groups less often.

The problem comes when blades and hilts are traded among groups, as they are quite often. The T'boli are well known for their metal work, and produce good quality blades and brass hilts, the latter being made by the lost wax method. The small kampilan (kamfilan) is a particular T'boli specialty, although other Lumad groups also make them.