Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 30th November 2011, 01:02 AM   #1
Maria L

Default Arrow from Santa Cruz, Melanesia

Hello,

I am a postgraduate Objects Conservation student currently working on this arrow from Santa Cruz. I am trying to gather more information on it (it isn't easy!), which will help me decide on any treatment options. If anyone here has come accross similar items and could share their knowledge regarding history, materials, manufacture, etc. it would be very much appreciated.

The arrow is 120.8cm long, and has a diameter of 1cm at its widest point. The shaft consists of two different types of wood: a hardwood (palm wood?) foreshaft, and bamboo/reed. The join between the two woods is bound with what I think is hardened gummed vegetable fibre. The arrowhead has two small barbs of what looks like bone, and originally would have had a bone tip, which has been snapped off. I'm guessing the arrowhead has been made by attaching the bone barbs and tip to the sharpened end of the foreshaft and wrapping it with the same gummed vegetable fibre. The foreshaft and arrowhead have been painted with a thick reddish-brown pigment. The reed shaft has a small nock.