Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 1st February 2016, 10:08 PM   #1
Cathey

Default Malaysian matchlock musket (satinggar espingarda)

Hi Guys

I am far from a gun expert and I need to give a brief and hopefully interesting talk on this Malaysian matchlock. I am hoping someone out there might be able to help me. I believe this gun is a Matchlock musket (satinggar espingarda) with snapping lock, Malaysian, 18th century. It has a plain Octagonal Barrel, polished blackwood stock, lock and mountings of heavy chased brass and appears to emulate the Japanese Teppo.

References:
George Cameron Stone, A Glossary Of The Construction, Decoration and Use of Arms and Armor.1934, p. 264, fig. 326.
Robert Elgood, Firearms Of The Islamic World...,1995. pp. 188-189, fig. 129

I did find a vague reference to these guns being used by the Portuguese to repel the attacks from the locals, which I have been unable to explore further. Also if anyone can tell me what the two dangling things are hanging from the lock I would be most grateful.

Essentially any additional details that can be provided to jazz up the description and story behind this gun will be most welcome.

Cheers Cathey and Rex
Attached Images

Cathey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2016, 07:12 AM   #2
Cathey

Default can someone help

Please can someone respond to this thread, I am desperate for information, cheers Cathey
Old 4th February 2016, 08:19 AM   #3
estcrh

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathey
Please can someone respond to this thread, I am desperate for information, cheers Cathey