Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 30th July 2014, 04:25 AM   #1
Shakethetrees

Default Bronze cannon breech?

Gentlemen:

Some time back I picked this item up at an estate sale. The bore is roughly 2 inches in diameter. I included a ruler in the photo to give an overall idea of the scale. The bottom was filled with lead a long time ago up past the vent, which has been spiked by what appears to be a large headed iron nail!

It just reeks with character, and I have no intentions whatsoever to do anything to it.

My guess is that it is either French or Spanish, circa 17th century, but I defer to you guys, as my experience with firearms of this early period is limited!

Any info or ideas as to its point of origin and age would be appreciated.
Attached Images

Shakethetrees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2014, 04:44 AM   #2
Shakethetrees

Sorry, I am a beginner with a new resizing app. Here is a better image.
Attached Images

Old 30th July 2014, 06:04 PM   #3
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Not a cannon breech but one of these multiuse 'noise makers'; in this case to go bang during religious festivities, judging by the cross. No ammunition needed, just gunpowder and a wad. It is used upright.
I wouldn't think that it is spiked to avoid its functionality but to have a new life ... like for melting lead, as per your words.
The one (among several) that i have with a cross was bought in a French site.
They can be very old. Difficult to precise; maybe someone with more knowledge.
fernando is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2014, 12:42 PM   #4
Matchlock
(deceased)

Location: Bavaria, Germany - the center of 15th and 16th century gunmaking

Hi Shakethetrees,

Don't let yourself get troubled.