Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 22nd August 2016, 07:15 PM   #1
mariusgmioc

Default Keris Bugis for comments

Hello,

I recently acquired the Keris in the photos below. As I am a novice in the fiel, any comment would be most welcomed.
Attached Images

mariusgmioc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2016, 09:19 PM   #2
Battara
EAAF Staff

Looks nice. Congratulations!

The dress looks like court wear...........
Battara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2016, 09:24 PM   #3
asomotif

Nice blade.

Silverwork looks to be very fine detailled. Do you have some close ups ?

Ps, do you have a picture of the opening of the scabbard without the blade in it ?

Best regards,
Willem
asomotif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2016, 11:08 PM   #4
Marcokeris

Nice
Marcokeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2016, 08:55 AM   #5
Jean

A typical and quite good Bugis kris with a scabbard recently "embellished" with silver. Personally I prefer the original wooden scabbards like this one.
Regards
Attached Images

Jean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2016, 07:24 PM   #6
Sajen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean
.....recently "embellished" with silver.
What is recent in the world of keris and how important is it? And I am really not sure if all the silver is new/recent.

Last edited by Sajen; 23rd August 2016 at 07:41 PM.
Sajen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2016, 07:30 PM   #7
Sajen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean
Personally I prefer the original wooden scabbards like this one.
So you wouldn't like to own some of the keris scabbards are shown in the first link posted by David and would prefer a "simple" wooden one? http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showth...ight=toli-toli So please feel free when you come across one to send it to me, I'll send you a pure wooden one!

Best regards,
Detlef