Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 14th November 2010, 01:59 AM   #1
archer

Default Crusiform bladed Dagger E Bay

What is this dagger called? What is its' origin? There is a dragon and a wood spirit-like Head used as some of the decoration. Fluted blade is 47/8 inches overall length is 85/8 inches. It sold for $676.00.
Thanks, Steve
Attached Images

archer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2010, 02:45 AM   #2
Robert
EAAF Staff

Hello Archer,
I too was watching this dagger on epray. I am no expert by any means but to me it looks to be French. The Green Man and the European winged dragon make me think that the engraving could be English. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be along shortly to give a real answer as to where it is actually from. Sorry about the picture quality as I'm not very good at this.

Robert
Attached Images

Last edited by Robert Coleman; 14th November 2010 at 03:08 AM.
Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2010, 03:19 AM   #3
laEspadaAncha

Good call on the Green Man observation. Given the pagan / Celtic imagery (which while commonly associated with Celtic neopagan practices in the UK, was also known in Continental Europe), maybe it's an athame? I find the quality pieces with imagery associated with the wiccan religion usually command a good price.
laEspadaAncha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2010, 05:37 AM   #4
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

This interesting little dagger is most likely a Victorian interpretation of the medieval dagger known as the misericorde. Essentially it was known as the 'dagger of mercy'. These narrow bladed daggers were meant to pierce vulnerable spots in armor to dispatch hopelessly wounded knights to save thier suffering and often used in close quarters combat similarly, though the veracity of such use of these may be largely myth.