Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi

Old 12th February 2022, 08:34 AM   #1
milandro

Default Where does this blade come from?

I have bought a blade with only the hilt ( Sumatran Solo hilt) quite a nice one methinks.

Anyway I will provide the blade with a new sarong or adapt an old one if I can find a suitable fitting but I am , in my ignorance, unsure of how you could class this “ wilah” , is it a Javanese wilah?

Initially I thought it was a keleng but I am not sure it will be, this is a shot at the cleaning stage

Somebody locally called it an “ High Keris” and said it was probably from before 1800 and called the Ganja kelab lintah. Another person fasked a friend in Indonesia and he said that this was a sempono panjul dapur. They all seemed to find it an interesting blade.

Again I am a beginner at all this.
Attached Images

Last edited by milandro; 12th February 2022 at 08:37 AM. Reason: spelling
milandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2022, 09:01 AM   #2
Jean

Hello,
This looks an old blade but not a masterpiece nor a "high kris" IMO, the dapur is not a Javanese standard and the carving & pamor pattern look of common quality.
Regarding the geographic origin, my best guess is Madura or East Java but I am not sure.

Last edited by Jean; 12th February 2022 at 02:24 PM.
Jean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2022, 09:06 AM   #3
milandro

thank you, well, I am an humble beginner and one has to begin somewhere.

Strange though how different people ( I mentioned those things because a local expert of the Keris Studiegroep ) make different assessments
Old 12th February 2022, 02:33 PM   #4
Jean

Quote:
Originally Posted by milandro View Post

Strange though how different people ( I mentioned those things because a local expert of the Keris Studiegroep ) make different assessments