Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 2nd April 2017, 07:24 PM   #1
Cerjak

Default A harquebusier helmet of siege weight

Siege Weight Lobster Tailed Pot with a crowned IR stamp , the two-piece skull with pivoting pointed peak and three-bar face-guard, ear-pieces certainly associated .
Any comment on it will be welcome.
Attached Images

Cerjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2017, 12:23 PM   #2
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Grrrreat piece !
fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2017, 02:04 PM   #3
Cerjak

Thank you Fernando
Old 5th April 2017, 07:18 PM   #4
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian

As an arms historian, and in that regard, a complete novice (at best) on armour, I became curious with this intriguing helmet, and while wanting to ask questions, decided to do some research to learn more on these.

For other uninitiated in the field of study of armour (obviously including myself), I wanted to add these notes.

This type of helmet apparently developed in Europe, deriving from the Turkish 'chichak' of similar form with nasal, neck guard, ear coverings etc.. I believe most probably Poland, began their own versions and termed them 'zischagge' (German from the Turkish term for these). The Polish 'Winged Hussars' had their often elaborate versions of these in the 16th century.

In the 17th century these were often termed 'harquebusier' pots or helmets, as they were typically worn by the light cavalry called 'harquebusiers' for the 'arquebus' guns they used. These helmets were also worn by pikemen.
During the English Civil Wars 1642-51, these were of course prevalent, and I found that while many of these helmets were made in England, numbers of them, predominantly Dutch were brought in, mostly it would seem by the 'roundheads' (Parliamentarians led by Cromwell).

One of my questions was, what does the crowned IR stand for?