Vikingsword Staff

Arrow Keris For Comment ?

Very interesting keris .
http://tinyurl.com/da99s
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2005, 02:59 AM   #2
LabanTayo

I was watching that one too.....
I'm not a Keris expert, but I thought it was interesting/cool.
LabanTayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2005, 03:16 AM   #3
Rick
Vikingsword Staff

Arrow

Yeah , it is interesting ......
Not old though IMO
Funny material that the wrongko is made of .
I think it might really be Whalebone .
Takes a long time to get the oil and stink out of the stuff though .
Old 29th November 2005, 03:18 AM   #4
VANDOO
(deceased)

Thumbs up

A VERY NICE TOP QUALITY CONTEMPORARY BALI KRIS, I WONDER WHY IT IS SOLD VIA A DEALER IN CHINESE STUFF? PERHAPS IT WAS COMISSIONED FOR RESALE IT WILL BE INTERESTING TO SEE. IF IT WAS PROFITABLE ENOUGH PERHAPS WE WILL SEE MORE OF THE SAME. I ESPECIALLY LIKED THE PICTURES OF THE OLD WORK WORN HANDS HOLDING THE KERIS IN THE LAST PICTURE.
VANDOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2005, 04:38 AM   #5
John

I've handled 3 similar wrangkas including this one in my possession. The carving depicts scenes from the Ramayana said to be pertaining to the abduction of Sita, consort of Rama. There is also the guardian Boma at the middle. The wrangka carving is a little coarse and material looks to be similar to mine which is whalebone. Such wrangkas appeared recently and not seen pre WW II or later but I thought they are nice.

I don't believe having seen a similar hulu (handle) anywhere and the blade looks to be well made and of good quality.
John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2005, 03:04 PM   #6
Rick
Vikingsword Staff

John , are Whale strandings common in your part of the world ?
This seems to be a very unusual and really not such a great ( IMO ) material to use for a wrongko .
Most Whale bone is ridiculously porous .