Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 2nd December 2004, 05:54 PM   #1
Michel

Default A khandjar and a problem

Hi forumnites

I have forged , filed anf produced the below shown Khandjar and its sheath.

I know I am not up to the standard of the beautifull pieces shown here:

but I wish to improve and complete the sheath mouth and bottom end with the proper finish. My idea is to produce with a "repoussé" technic as the one below:

first the sheath mouth and then the bottom part.
To that end I have designed the below shown motif :

I do not think this drawing to be very good and as I am no artist but only a very modest craftsman, I cannot invent a fitting design for the repoussé work.

Now my questions :
Is the repoussé the best adapted technic for this work ? Battara may have the answer.
Has any of you a photo of a good decoration that I could copy ?
Thanks for all answers

Michel
Michel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2004, 06:23 PM   #2
Federico

I would hazard to guess that you will need to chase and repousse. Repousse to get portions to stand up, chase to get portions incised in...hmmm not sure if that makes much sense. But by all means I vote for chase and repousse.

PS. wonderful work by the way so far, look forward to seeing the finished piece.
Federico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2004, 09:55 PM   #3
Battara
EAAF Staff