Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 25th December 2007, 02:09 PM   #1
roshan

Default Philippine sword...

My dad bought this sword while travelling somewhere to the south of Manila... What can you tell me about it?

I guess its just a wall hanger.

roshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2007, 02:27 PM   #2
Henk

If you put it on the wall, it is a wallhanger indeed. Just like the most of our swords we collect.

It is a bolo. But I'm not an expert on Philippine swords. I'm sure the more knowledgeable members will give their comment on this piece.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2007, 02:45 PM   #3
roshan

True, I suppose. Im just not sure of the quality of the blade, or the age of the weapon, although I think its probably very recent. I tried chopping a coconut tree with it, it didnt go deep in at all. I dont know whether that was due to the coconut tree, the sword or me.

I did have better luck chopping up a malungay tree though:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/25056169@N00/462705936/
Old 25th December 2007, 03:45 PM   #4
Henk

Mostly we don't chop trees with our swords. Although with a good sword and technique one can chop a tree, but swords are generally not made for chopping trees. Unfortunately fine blades can be ruined by these kind of acts.

As far as I can see it on the picture it is a a rather nice sword fitted with a belt hanger. I personally would remove the belt hanger.

For the age I don't think it is brand new. A careful guess is around or maybe even before WWII.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2007, 04:26 PM   #5
Ferguson