Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 11th October 2006, 11:07 PM   #1
Bill M

Default Moro shield

Just arrived 20" diameter. I think it is old and rare, but how old? How rare?

Comments?
Attached Images

Bill M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2006, 11:46 PM   #2
kino

Nice shield.
What makes you think it's Moro?
kino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2006, 09:56 PM   #3
Bill M

Quote:
Originally Posted by kino
Nice shield.
What makes you think it's Moro?
Kino,

I am not an expert in this particular variety of shield. However three experts I know all agreed that it was an "early, rare, Moro shield." I trust these men implicitly.

Kino, you know at least one of them well and have already talked with him about this. Actually you know some other really neat people well also.

I do not like to spread around names without their permission though I am happy to share the knowledge as long as they have not asked me to keep it myself. I believe that knowledge is free and belongs to everyone, but I have to keep my word.

I felt that I needed to move quickly to acquire it and do not have the detail information about why they felt it is a "rare, early Moro shield," but they have advised me well in the past and I trust that this is so.

As I have mentioned in the past, I correspond with a lot of experts who help me build my collection. Personally I am more of a generalist than a detail guy.

I often find something that gives me a feeling to acquire, run it by a few good people in that field and then if I and they have good feeling about the price, I acquire it.

In holding this piece I have a very good feeling of quality and age. Could I be wrong? Sure. But I have been traveling, meeting museum curators and collectors and handling a lot of good pieces, trying to develop my "eye."