Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 14th March 2015, 12:46 PM   #1
Cerjak

Default A Wakizashi for comment.

The guy who owned it for decades told me that it was brought from ASIA by a military officer in 1939.
The blade is Circa 42cm and overall is 58 cm .
I would like to remove the handle to see if there is any inscription on the Tang but it ‘s seem impossible without damage.
I would like to know more about this sword and may be a member already seen a similar handle.
Any comment on it will be welcome.
Attached Images

Cerjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2015, 01:09 PM   #2
thinreadline

I am no expert on Japanese weapons, but as you must already know , the grip , and probably the scabbard too, are replacements . Looks to me as though the sword has been in tribal hands and been re hilted . It all depends what your objective is , ie to preserve it in its 'tribalised' form or to restore it to its original Japanese state . If the latter , then any damage to the grips during their removal is of no consequence and replacement Japanese grips are easily obtained .
thinreadline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2015, 01:32 PM   #3
Cerjak

HELLO
It is a difficult choice ,first I need to know how old this blade could be .May be we could estimate a range of age from the tsuba ?

Best
Cerjak
Old 14th March 2015, 02:05 PM   #4
thinreadline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerjak
HELLO
It is a difficult choice ,first I need to know how old this blade could be .May be we could estimate a range of age from the tsuba ?

Best
Cerjak

You can only estimate the age of the tsuba, its not going to be an indicator of the age of the blade. Japanese sword furniture was often changed as fashions changed , but the blades were handed down through the generations.
thinreadline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2015, 07:21 PM   #5
stekemest