Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 9th March 2008, 11:07 AM   #1
Andy Stevens

Default Is this a Tanto?

Hello all,
I got this today from an collectors market, I only actually wanted the Katar (see thread " info on Katar") but the dealer offered me a deal that I couldn't refuse!

I have very little knowledge on Japanese weapons, mainly because they are always beyond my budget. I didn't pay big money for the pair, so any painful comments will be taken without too many tears.
The dagger is very sharp, all the handle binding is firm. The blade is 23cm long, the handle 14 cm.

Is this the real thing? Or have I purchased a nice paint stiring gadget!

Photo's are a bit naff as the batteries lost the will to live.
Attached Images

Andy Stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2008, 01:06 PM   #2
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Hy Andy
The experts will tell you more, but in principle this is the real thing.
The only Japanese piece i have has the same type of handle, a pattern known to be from the so called Tatsuma rebellion ( 1877 ).
Fernando.
fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 07:36 PM   #3
Andy Stevens

Hi Fernando,
Thanks for the info, the dagger is very interesting, and has prompted me to look through my one and only book on the subject. Are these weapons common? Were they mass produced at all? Thanks Andy
Old 11th March 2008, 08:34 PM   #4
spiral

Unfortuanatly the fact that the blade sticks out of the bottom of the habiki means at best its a composite.

The fact that the blade under the Habaki is also sharp means at best it probably apiece from a broken blade.[the tip if your lucky.}

The wrap looks like it was done by a total amauter.

Such features are normaly enough to set alarm bells going, about authenticity.

Spiral
spiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 09:52 PM   #5
katana

Andy,