Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29th November 2013, 08:51 AM   #1
russel

Default Tombak for comment

Hello all,

I recently acquired this spearhead and sheath. I honestly know nothing about it and would appreciate all comments. Where is it from (I'm thinking Lombok), and how old do you think it is?

The scabbard is lovely, showing signs of real age. Sadly there is some recent damage. There is a (very) little rust on the blade, what is the best way to deal with this? I am imagining that steel wool and oil would NOT be the best approach with a blade with pamor like this!

More photo's available on request.

Cheers,

Russel
Attached Images

russel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 08:28 PM   #2
imas560

Hello Russel,
nice piece. I'm a rank amateur at this stuff so can't help with i.d. and age etc. But I think Mr. Maisey posted recently on updated cleaning methods he uses for cleaning keris. He mentioned that the Golden Circle Pineapple Juice used to be his cleaning solution of choice but due to a recipe change of the product he has now switched to a vinegar solution.
I'd recommend searching for vinegar de-rusting posts and seeing if vinegar might be applicable to your item.
http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=15923.
best wishes
imas560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 09:51 PM   #3
Sajen

Hi Russel,

nice tombak and more nice to have the scabbard, although I think that the tip of the scabbard is missing. How long is the blade without pesi (tang)?
Here is a thread which could be helpful for you: http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showth...ghlight=tombak
I think that your tombak is from Java, age difficult to say. A cleaning with lemon juice will remove the rust but you can use vinegar as well. A warangan (traditional stain) will bring out the pamor.

Nice piece, congrats,

Detlef