Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 18th June 2009, 02:39 PM   #1
KuKulzA28

Default Dutch klewang vs. US Naval Cutlass?

Hello. I am a beginner in Ethnographic weaponry, and even more of a novice in European types. It occurred to me that the Dutch klewang used against Aceh and in Indonesia was very similar to the cutlass used by the US Navy, and probably by other Western states. I am wondering - were they basically the same or were there subtle but important differences between the two? Thanks.
KuKulzA28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 03:23 PM   #2
Emanuel

Hi there,

My understanding is that the Dutch Hembrug pattern came first, and was later taken on by Milsco in the US with very subtle variations. There has been a fair bit of discussion about these in the past, search the forum for the two makers.

I've been keeping my eye out for a Hembrug klewang for a while, I really like the design.

Emanuel
Emanuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 07:31 PM   #3
cornelistromp

Hi,
The Dutch had two types.
the left one is klewang no1 , made by A.coppel Solingen
the right one, klewang no2 is made at the Hembrug.

regards from Holland
Attached Images

cornelistromp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 08:32 PM   #4
kronckew

another solingen no. 1.

other side has a small (proofing?) crowned R mark figure. mine was supposedly captured from a german schnellboot (e-boat)