Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 18th September 2017, 06:59 PM   #1
David R

Default My New Balkan pistol.

Posting it here as I believe it to be a Balkan made flintlock, but not the general run of such. I have not seen this style of stock before, other than on French made pistols, but I admit I am no expert in this area. There is no ramrod, or provision for one, which makes it fairly clear that it was made for the Eastern market, on one side of the Bosphorus or the other.
Attached Images

David R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 08:04 PM   #2
BBJW

Default Balkan?

This does not look like a Balkan pistol to me. The stock and no provision for a ramrod indicates to me that it was put together elsewhere and it would only be a guess. What kind of wood is it?- bbjw
BBJW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 08:48 PM   #3
Kubur

European for Afghan market??
I'm not sure if it's French either... You should post it on the European Forum...
Kubur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 10:26 PM   #4
OsobistGB

Unfortunately, the gun has nothing to do with the Balkans.I maintain that it is French or German.
OsobistGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2017, 11:58 AM   #5
David R

It is a conundrum, which is why I posted it. The butt is very French style, first half of the 19th C, but there is no provision for a ramrod. The lock is again European in look, but has the serrated face to the frizzen we see on Eastern locks. The trigger is a small one with a curl at the end, just like my other pistol which is without a doubt a Kubure. The barrel is held to the stock by a band, and appears to have been wired to the stock at sometime, as opposed to using barrel lugs and pins.