Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 19th February 2017, 05:52 PM   #1
Cerjak

Default A Scottish basket hilt for comment.

A Scottish basket hilt for comment.
O.L. 104 cm ; blade L. 88 cm; blade width at hilt 3.8 cm. single edge.
Pommel mark : 59
When I have bought it I had the guess that this sword has probably been hung for a long time inside a church . The blade and hilt were covered of black paint. the layers of paint seemed very old and have been very easy to remove even without efforts.
Any comment on it would be welcome.

Cerjak
Attached Images

Last edited by Cerjak; 19th February 2017 at 06:07 PM.
Cerjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2017, 03:07 AM   #2
Will M

I'm no expert on basket hilts of this period but it being numbered would suggest belonging to a regiment and therefore most likely an English basket hilt?
The black paint I would think was part of its history but coming off easily does not suggest old paint to me, really old that is.
I have a mortuary sword with remaining black paint on the inside of the hilt and would not be removed easily if you wanted to.
When does this sword date to, I'd be only guessing.
Nice find!
Will M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2017, 04:18 AM   #3
Battara
EAAF Staff

Could this have been a regiment belonging to the Black Watch? Later Scottish regimental basket hilts would have had a conical top (i.e. the American Revolution). This looks older, and might be English, but I am at this second leaning toward Scottish.

I also agree with the paint being later. Perhaps used as a form of preservation.
Battara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2017, 05:38 AM   #4
Jim McDougall
Arms Historian