Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons

Old 1st December 2014, 12:15 PM   #1
BANDOOK

Default IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED,GUN FROM MIDDLE EAST MOSTLY BEDOUIN OR SAUDI ARABIA

AM POSTING PICTURES OF MY BEDOUIN MUSKET WAS TOLD IT COULD BE FROM SAUDI ARABIA OR OMAN,HAS BARNETT ,LONDON ON THE LOCKS,PLEASE LET ME KNOW YOUR VIEWS WHERE IT COMES FROM
REGARDS RAJESH
Attached Images

BANDOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 04:40 PM   #2
trenchwarfare

It appears to be an all English made gun, with locally added embellishments. I'm just learning these, so can't help with the region of origin. Styles seem to overlap from culture, to culture, so pinpointing an ethnic group is difficult. I like it.
trenchwarfare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 06:17 PM   #3
TVV

To me this looks like a Snider gun, which was modified in Yemen to fit local taste. Nice gun.

Teodor
TVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 06:37 PM   #4
spiral

Thats not English made, the markings are clearly fake.

All though the detail picture quality is poor the font & execution of the markings are clearly later & incorrect.

spiral
spiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 06:53 PM   #5
trenchwarfare

In the middle east, markings have nothing to do with mfg. Yes, the font of the maker name looks modern. That doesn't mean it's not an English made gun. I've seen several Royal Afghan mfg. rifles, that have been scrubbed, and English markings added. Done I guess, to appeal more to the GIs. I was going by the fact that the lock looks English, and the trigger guard is heavily made military, not the sheet metal guards you usually see on these type guns. And I could be wrong.
trenchwarfare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2014, 07:12 PM   #6
spiral

Quote:
Originally Posted by trenchwarfare