Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Keris Warung Kopi

Old 9th March 2011, 08:56 AM   #1
Raja Muda

Default Keris Jawa for Comment

Gentlemen,

It has been a while. I have recently acquired this keris and as I have very little experience with keris Jawa, I was wondering if our esteemed forum members could assist me with identifying the dhapur and tangguh of this keris. The hilt is somewhat unusual, made of bone with interesting carvings. I hope someone can shed light on the origins of the ukiran too. The blade came without a warangka, and I'm still considering whether to dress it in a proper Javanese warangka, or some other sheath which I can get my hands on here in Malaysia. Regards
Attached Images

Raja Muda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 02:41 PM   #2
Marcokeris

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja Muda
Gentlemen,

It has been a while. I have recently acquired this keris and as I have very little experience with keris Jawa, I was wondering if our esteemed forum members could assist me with identifying the dhapur and tangguh of this keris. The hilt is somewhat unusual, made of bone with interesting carvings. I hope someone can shed light on the origins of the ukiran too. The blade came without a warangka, and I'm still considering whether to dress it in a proper Javanese warangka, or some other sheath which I can get my hands on here in Malaysia. Regards
The ukiran would be from Madura (...or around area). Sometimes there is (around the base) a metal ring (a kind of selut).............. Your hilt seems very nice
Marcokeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 02:50 PM   #3
David
Keris forum moderator

Better, closer photos would be helpful. I'd say that the blade looks more Javanese than Madurese. Personally i think this would be best dressed in Javanese clothing.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 02:21 PM   #4
Raja Muda

Default More pictures