FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 16th April 2005, 04:22 AM   #1
TVV

Default Am I overly paranoid

Or is there something wrong with these items that recently closed on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1

To me they look to be everything but authentic, not even like decorative Qajar pieces, but more like modern day repros made in India. What makes me think so is the extremely crude engraving, the screws on the shield, and the flimsy aventail on the helmet. There are other details that do not seem right, but these are the most obvious.
Of course, I might be wrong, as I am by no means an expert, but I would like to hear your opinion. Obviously, to someone they were worth a lot.
TVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2005, 05:07 AM   #2
Conogre

I'm a novice on older pieces (getting better though, due to the gift of a good book by a friend **grin**) and intentionally somewhat familiar with contemporary pieces of traditional style, with my impression being that they MAY be chinese reproductions of Indian pieces, primarily from the "feel" of the artwork.
The dagger, by the way struck me as odd with a very flat appearing inner blade and the "armor piercing tip" obviously welded on.....this doesn't appear to be a repair weld if you look very closely.
Then again, I undertand that Chinese smiths are not uncommon in parts of India , so I may well be off base here, but I agree that there do seem to be some strange inconsistancies.
Here's a few photos of some of my contemporary pieces for comparison.
I'll be curious to see what some of our more knowldegable members have to see as well.....if you're too paranoid, I'm in your club as well (and thrifty too! **grin**)
Mike
ps...the shipping was cheaper from Bombay! **BIG grin**
Attached Images

Last edited by Conogre; 16th April 2005 at 05:17 AM.
Conogre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2005, 10:36 AM   #3
Tim Simmons