Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 1st July 2015, 03:21 PM   #1
CSinTX

Default A Poleaxe like Halberd

This halberd recently made its way to my collection. It was originally located in a Chateaux near Versailles in really rough condition. The metal was cleaned and haft replaced. As you can see, the blade is shaped like a traditional poleaxe. It is quite heavy compared to most halberds. The languets seem to be much larger than normal and there is heavy reinforcement where they meet the head. I was thinking it might be circa 1475? Does anyone know of other similar examples? Thoughts on origin? Could it be 15th Century? As always, all comments are welcome.
Attached Images

Last edited by CSinTX; 2nd July 2015 at 03:04 PM.
CSinTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2015, 08:03 PM   #2
Marcus den toom

Hi,

I am no expert on halbeards, but i am quit sure it is more likely a late 16th century version than a 15th century version seeing as the shape does not match any i have seen in the early manuscripts i useally study.

Please, do you also have pictures of this piece before it was cleaned?
It is of course once own choice, but cleaning the steel and replacing the haft just made this piece so much less valuable, historically speaking
Marcus den toom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2015, 11:31 PM   #3
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Is the posted halberd so different from examples in 'German Landsknechts and their Captain' depicted in 'Kriesgordnung' by Hans Döring in 1545 ?

Attached Images

fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2015, 01:57 AM   #4
A Senefelder

I cannot tell from the pictures. Is the point of the fluke ( the back spike of opposite the axe blade ) thickened at it's tip?
A Senefelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2015, 02:14 AM   #5
Timo Nieminen