Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 17th April 2016, 01:27 AM   #1
ariel

Default Russian Khyber knife

It is finished on e-bay, so I am within my rights to post the pics.

Here is a classical Afghani Khyber knife ( Selaava), with all bells and whistles. No doubt about it being old and authentic.

However, its blade bears a clear mark of the Russian Zlatoust Weapon Factory.

Does anyone have any other examples of Russia-made blades of such a distinct profile among the Afghani Khybers in the 19th century?
Attached Images

ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 04:17 AM   #2
ausjulius

im no expert but id say blade is to crude form something form zlatoust.
as smiths do in that area.. id say they may have added a stamp they have seen to add value to their product.. could be wrong.. but ..
ausjulius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 08:01 AM   #3
ariel

That's what I thought too, but I found identical marks on items coming from old Russia. Did the Afghanis forge a special stamp? If so, that would not be the only example, and that was exactly what I was asking. Or is it known that Zlatoust made a special order of the blades?
Old 17th April 2016, 11:02 AM   #4
mahratt

It would be interesting to see the same stamp on the authentic Russian items from Zlatoust.

I think that in this particular case we are dealing with an old Khyber knife on which someone recently put fake stamp Zlatoust.
mahratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 12:25 PM   #5
mariusgmioc

Faking such a detailed stamp, and to this level of quality is not an easy task.

mariusgmioc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2016, 12:36 PM   #6
mahratt

The stamp is not very neat . If we compare with the authentic
Old 17th April 2016, 06:13 PM   #7
mahratt