Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury

Old 10th July 2019, 02:04 AM   #1
Camoga

Default Spanish Percussion Pistol

Hello Friends,

Recently my father gave me a Spanish percussion pistol as a gift.
It was donated to him so there is no background info. There is an engraving on the barrel that says "FABRICADO POR PEDRO M AGUIRRE EN EIBAR 1860,"
(Made by Pedro M Aguirre in Eibar 1860). I have little knowledge about these pistols so any help in identify will be greatly appreciated. Doing an internet search I was able to find Eibar was a famous city in Spain know for its armories and that there is a gunsmith by the name of Pedro J Aguirre who started in 1864. I am wondering if Pedro M was the father.

The gun is in terrible shape so any tips on restoring would be great.

Once again thank you for your time,
Samuel
Attached Images

Camoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2019, 12:08 PM   #2
fernando
Lead Moderator European Armoury

Hello Samuel,
I am redirecting your thread to the European section, where your topic will hopefully receive expected answers.
fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2019, 02:26 PM   #3
corrado26

Pedro AGUIRRE is listed in the "Neue Stöckel" twice, one at Eibar in 1763 and the other at Eibar in 1840 to 1850. The second is also listed by W. Keith Neal, Spanish Guns and Pistols at Eibar in 1841.
So this second Pedro Aguirre must be the maker of your pistol. Unfortunately it is in a very bad state so you will have much to do in order to getting this piece in a collectable condition.
corrado26
corrado26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2019, 04:12 PM   #4
Fernando K

Hello

The correct signature is PEDRO Ma. (Maria) DE AGUIRRE
Eibar1840-1850
Ramiro Larrañaga "Historical Synthesis of the Basque Armeria", page 195