Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > European Armoury
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24th April 2015, 09:54 PM   #1
dana_w

Default Interesting Dagger For Comment

The over all length of this dagger is 16 15/16". The blade is 11 3/4" long, approximately 15/16" wide near the grip, with the top edge being 3/8" wide over most of its length. The tip is wedge/diamond shaped(?) for 4 1/2". The dagger weighs 8 1/4 oz.

As you can see there is no guard. I believe the grip is made of wood, but it is hard, polished, and looks a lot like some kind of horn.
Attached Images

dana_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2015, 01:06 AM   #2
S.Workman

I am no expert, but that hilt looks like tortoise shell. Maybe the dagger is one of those "Corsican" (or French, or Sardinian, or Spanish, or Italian) vendetta daggers. It's pretty sweet, anyway.
Does the tang extend through the grip, or is it shorter and just set into the grip material?
S.Workman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2015, 01:25 AM   #3
dana_w

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.Workman
Does the tang extend through the grip, or is it shorter and just set into the grip material?
The grip seems like is made of a solid piece. The tang doesn't extend all the way through the grip. The end is just more of the grip material that is a little worn.
Old 25th April 2015, 02:15 AM   #4
S.Workman

I might be wrong, but is there a letter or makers mark on the blade? There looks to be something like a "c" or an "o"...or it might be nothing. I'm almost positive that the hilt is tortoise shell. The Carribean had a big tortoiseshell industry, long defunct. They used to get enormous pieces of the stuff.
Old 25th April 2015, 02:24 AM   #5
dana_w

Quote: