Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Kindjal and tulvar for review... (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=14753)

hbhansen 21st December 2011 09:22 PM

Kindjal and tulwar for review...

11 Attachment(s)
Hi I'm new here, so take good care of me :)

I recently bought a lot of 3 "tourist" blades. A fantasi sword, a tulwar and Kindjal/qama. The kindjal is the reason why I bought the lot. I think it is a genuine late 1800's dagestani style kindjal that got mixed up with som junk. Unfortunately there is no scabbard for it.
This is only my second kindjal, so I'm no expert. Please if anyone can help me confirm the authentity of this one, I would be very greatful.
The tulwar is the first one I ever hold. First I thought "tourist", but then again, it's stamped, and it looks like it has been sharpened a few times and used too ???

Thanks alot
hbhansen

hbhansen 21st December 2011 09:43 PM

7 Attachment(s)
And here are some pics of the tulwar...

Stan S. 21st December 2011 09:54 PM

Well, it looks old and ment for business. Unfortunately, I can't say much else. Would love to see some pictures of the tulwar

hbhansen 21st December 2011 11:45 PM

6 Attachment(s)
And here are some pics of the tulwar...

Dom 22nd December 2011 12:52 AM

Welcome "hbhansen"
it's not realy the field where I'm feel me comfortable, but after have saw many blades,
your's don't looks at all, from; some "bazaar" for tourist
not very old, have the characteristics of dagestani style kindjal
but reduce of 100 years your age estimation, as per as my point of view ± 1900 :p
any way, nice kindjal

à +

Dom

Stan S. 22nd December 2011 01:51 PM