Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Ethnographic Arms & Armour (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/index.php)
-   Ethnographic Weapons (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Javanese Fighting Short Sword ? (http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=21406)

Miguel 11th May 2016 08:22 PM

Javanese Fighting Short Sword ?

2 Attachment(s)
Hello Everyone,

I would be grateful if someone could confirm or otherwise whether this sword is from Java or not. My own findings are that it is and the design is loosely based on the Dutch 1898 Klewang naval cutlass. It is a well made weapon with a horn hilt having finger grips on a heavy single edged blade. The scabbard is wood with white metal bands and a horn mouthpiece.
Overall length is 17 ins, blade length is 12.125 ins x 1.75 ins wide. Thanking you in anticipation.
Regards
Miguel

Athanase 12th May 2016 11:03 AM

Hello Miguel.
For me it's typical Javanese production.
(But I'm still a novice in the Indonesian weapons)

kronckew 12th May 2016 11:29 AM

3 Attachment(s)
the dutch preferred clip pointed swords and sabres, the smithies of the then dutch east indies made a number of klewangs, swords, etc. for the dutch of various types. the dutch 'hembrug' klewang made for the military police in the dutch east indies is discussed in many threads here.

my dutchie, a european style hunting sword from the area and a native sword from borneo as examples discussed before.

Miguel 13th May 2016 07:44 PM

Thanks folks for your comments and thanks Kronckew for sharing the photos of your Dutch swords, they are very nice pieces.

So my weapon is Javanese but is it a fighting short sword or what? :confused:
Regards
Miguel

David 13th May 2016 09:13 PM